Posted by: whirlabout | January 5, 2009

Reading and Reading — As if I Didn’t Have Children

whirlaboutpostI have been one crazy book worm lately. For me, this is huge, since I’ve only read a handful of books since giving birth to my first child five and a half years ago.

Typically, all I can squeeze into a day – before melting on the couch after my kids go to bed and the dishes are done and the laundry is folded and the cat is fed and the house is clean – is a few articles from the magazines on my coffee table that expired months ago.

But this Christmas, things were different.

When my kids were out of school, I sort of went on vacation too.

I stopped worrying about being on time — to class, to activities, to play dates. I didn’t plan anything. I didn’t worry whether by boys were fully engaged and entertained throughout the day. And I must admit, I barely even cleaned the house (other than dishes and keeping things tidy). Instead, I jumped at every free moment to finish books about the field of voice acting that I’ve been wanting to read.

The heftiest of the bunch was The Art of Voice Actingby James Alburger.. actually, I’m still trying to finish this one. It has been referred to as “the bible of voice acting” and the author is someone I’m considering as a voice instructor.

I also read Voice for Hire: Launch and Maintain a Lucrative Career in Voice-Oversby Randy Thomas and Peter Rofe – a much quicker read that gives a great breakdown of the VO business. And then, VO: Tales and Techniques of a Voice-Over Actorby Harlan Hogan. This was recommended to me by another voice coach out of Salt Lake City with whom I’m also considering doing telecourse work.

It’s inspiring to get answers to the questions I’ve wanted to ask but didn’t know who could reply. I’ve been taking baby steps in my career the last few years while devoting all my time to raising my children. I feel ready to move my career into a higher gear. I like to think this new, insatiable appetite for reading is a sign that, this year, I WILL make the time to make it happen.

Responses

  1. […] professional voice recordings. Home studio construction is another one of the topics I’ve been reading about voraciously  lately. After all my research, I settled on this version: the Harlan Hogan […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

