Posted by: penelopefly | January 3, 2009

Flying Without Children

ulyssespostHappy New Year Butterflies!  My last post found me speculating whether I had what it takes to pull of a vacation, a big santa christmas, another vacation, a birthday party and be ready to show up for my first day of graduate school on January 3rd.  The answer: yes, yes, yes and yes…and somehow managed to live each moment fully. I did discover 3 new grey hairs however (true story).

This morning began at 4:30am.  My husband was up with my first movement offering to brew me a cappuccino and holding my hand as I struggled to stay confident saying goodbye.  My six year old daughter woke with my kiss and I had to walk out the door to the sound of her weeping. Can you say broken nerves? I’ve never been away from my girls for more than 2 nights ever!

Off to the airport for the first time flying without children in over five years! I never thought crowed terminals and crammed planes could feel like a spa vacation.  A 5am phone call assured me that all was well at the home front.  During the flights I managed to critique 4 manuscripts and finish The Island of Dr. Moreau and an additional short story.  

As my plane descended over Asheville, NC, I was surprised by the mountains and rivers.  This place is so peaceful and beautiful. I felt a great calm.  

Now I’m in my hotel room having just devoured a bbq sandwich,  glass of Shiraz, and a chocolate torte.  My luggage isn’t getting here until midnight (Thank you Delta) though I’ll be well into my sleep- two earplugs as I have no need to listen for night cries.

Tomorrow I get a leisurely morning before heading ten miles into the mountains of the Warren Wilson campus. Stay tuned…..

Responses

  1. Wow! Graduate school…away? How long will you be in NC? Happy New Year!


Leave a Reply

Categories

