Posted by: whirlabout | November 4, 2008

Inspiration in Unexpected Places

I think my first step towards career overhaul actually snuck in with the fear of devoting myself to motherhood.

Don’t get me wrong, I knew I wanted to stay home and raise my children. But give up my profession? Give up the identity that comes from four years of college and 10 years of climbing the career ladder? I paid my dues at the bottom rung with paltry paychecks to match. I took on challenges beyond my job description to prove my abilities. I even suffered long boring days in a massive cube farm that lacked sunlight, privacy and any sense of inspiration. How could I just toss that aside if it meant re-climbing the rungs when I returned? That’s what led me to contract work.

I lined up freelance writing jobs with my supervisor (or the promise of them) before my baby was born. Luckily, she kept her word. I plugged away at the computer between naps, diaper changes, feeding time and a fried sleepless-brain. I capped my hours at 10 per week to keep the focus on home. But at least I was bringing in a little money, staying connected, and more importantly, realizing I really could do things differently.

Leave a Reply

Categories

